Cooking Day 5 – Friday May 17, 2013

Breakfast

  • Oatmeal

I finally got the oats made that I had planned to make for several mornings. This ended up being the only day we actually had THESE oats, which was fine. I used two crock pots, and we had a lot of leftovers, but that was intentional so that we could have leftover oatmeal cake. We had enough leftovers for 4 cakes!  One of the nice things about making your oats in the crock pot is that people can just help themselves whenever they’re up and hungry, instead of waiting for you.  You know, in case you want to sleep in.

Crock Pot Oatmeal

  • 2 cups regular rolled oats (you can use quick oats, but they won’t keep their shape and you will end up with mush. Still edible, just not as pretty.)
  • 2 cups chopped apples (or you could use a can of apple pie filling and less sugar)
  • 1 cup raisins (or less)
  • 4 cups milk (or how I usually do it: 2 cups each water and milk)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 Tablespoons butter
  • ½ cup brown sugar (allegedly optional, but IMO it’s not, especially if you’re using fresh fruit)
  1. Stir all ingredients together in crock; cover.
  2. Cook overnight or for 6 hours on low or warm.

You may have to get to know your own particular crock pot to know what works best. I was working with unknown tools, so I got up 6 hours before breakfast to turn them on. Overcooked oats aren’t that great, and you lose a lot that gets stuck to the pot.

I have made these with canned peaches, canned pears (not recommended – they get really mushy), no raisins, and other dried fruit like bananas or apples. Once I even used cooked squash and pumpkin pie seasoning rather than just cinnamon! Use your imagination and what you have on hand.

Coconut oil is a good substitute for the butter.

Another interesting addition that gives this a bit more body and protein is a couple of eggs, raw and scrambled, stirred in with everything else at the beginning.

Lunch

  • Leftovers!

We heated up one of the pans of enchiladas and some potato salad. Possibly some other things, too, but I know the potato soup and lentils got saved for another day.

Dinner

  • Green Salad
  • Taco/Burrito bar
  • tortillas
  • cooked pinto beans
  • ground turkey with Mexican-y spices
  • salsa
  • rice
  • lettuce
  • olives
  • cheese

These meals where everyone got to dish up their favorite toppings worked well for a crowd.

I made more tortillas, starting after breakfast since I didn’t have any lunch preparations, tripling the recipe so we would have two apiece. I took a few pictures this time of the process. The first shows all the little balls of dough after resting, with the first one I rolled.

Tortilla balls

I took each ball and flattened it with my hands into a circle about 4” in diameter.

flattened tortilla ball

Then, on a well-floured surface, I rolled them as thinly as possible. When rolling, you start from the center and work your way out. Keep your stack of raw tortillas covered with a damp cloth as you roll each one. You should keep the balls of dough covered as well, so they don’t dry out.

rolled tortilla

Once I’m ready to start cooking them, I heated up a cast iron skillet on medium. I think another type of skillet would need a higher temperature, but I’ve always used cast iron. No oil in the pan at this point. It only takes 20-30 seconds per side, turning when it starts to form bubbles. Store in an airtight container until ready to use.

finished tortillas

I suggest reheating any tortilla before eating, as leaving them cold makes them easier to fall apart, in my experience. My preferred method is to have oil in the pan so they end up hot and a little bit greasy – yum!

~Lynn

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

