Leftover Oatmeal Cake

This has been one of the favorites during the workshop, so I’m starting my recipe sharing with it.  My favorite use for leftover oatmeal; I don’t know if it’s anywhere online, but I got it from a friend.

Leftover Oatmeal Cake

  • 1/2 cup butter (or coconut oil – please don’t use nasty shortening!)
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar (If your oatmeal was already sweetened, you could get away with less sugar here. Feel free to taste it) 🙂
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • +- 2 cups leftover oatmeal (I’ve used as much as 3 cups, and it turns out fine. My leftover oats generally have apples and/or raisins in it.)

Cream together.

  • 1 1/2 cups flour (I’ve used white, whole wheat, mixtures…whatever)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Sift together in a separate bowl. Add to oatmeal mixture and beat well.
Put into greased 9x13ish pan. Bake at 350* for about 35 minutes. (I usually check around 25 minutes to test.)

TOPPING

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup cream or milk
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (optional)
  • 1 cup coconut flakes (optional) (note: mandatory, IMO) 😉

Spread onto hot cake and broil for 2-4 minutes, watching carefully so it doesn’t burn.  Let cool slightly before cutting.

Last night I changed up the recipe a bit.  I added cocoa powder (maybe 2-3 Tablespoons?) with the dry ingredients.  Be sure to taste batter to ensure it is sufficiently chocolaty enough.  I also added a handful of chocolate chips to the topping.  We had 9 adults and one child for dinner, and the cake was devoured in its entirety in about 15 minutes.  Good stuff!

~Jill

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

