Kitchen Boss

We are currently in the midst of a particular adventure, attending a cob building workshop.  I, Jill, am playing the role of Kitchen Boss.  I liken myself to the Cake Boss, only with more food choices, no tv show, and much less frosting.  I even have assistants!   It has been a pleasure to work and share with Caroline, Steff, and Courtney.

When I first signed up for this, it was a little overwhelming.  I had to plan to feed up to 40 people three meals a day for 12 days!  Luckily for me, though not necessarily for the workshop itself, I’ve only had to feed an average of 12 people a day.  I knew I could get everyone fed in a larger group, but I wouldn’t have been able to make as many foods from scratch.

I did a lot of mental preparation, just thinking through what I needed to do, sorting out the order things would need to be done.  I searched pinterest and my favorite blogs and forums for easy but tasty recipes, preferably already designed to feed large numbers of people.  I made lists of ideas for breakfast, lunch, dinner, desserts and side dishes.  And then I finally had to make a menu so I would know what we needed to buy! We are currently on Day 8, and the end is quickly approaching.

I’ve taken few photographs, and I will share eventually.  I had hoped to write every day about the menu, cooking experience, and share recipes, but most days have been pretty busy, so the detailed writing will have to wait. And dinner is in one hour, so I must get busy.

~Jill

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

